Indian Cross Stitch

Indian-Cross
Yarn: Patons Classic Wool
Needles: US #6, 4mm
Gauge: (1 rep) 8 st = 2″  12 rows =2..75″
Pattern: Indian Cross Stitch
Stitch Count Repeat:    Multiple of 8sts (12rows)
Book: “A Treasury of Knitting Patterns”
Page: 112
Difficult Techniques, if any: Wrap yarn around needle 4 times, knit the stitch. Next row: Slip stitches dropping all YO’s to make 1 long stitch.
Comments: Fabric looks exactly the same on both sides.

Knit by:

6 Responses to “Indian Cross Stitch”

  1. Spunknit Says:

    This is a lovely swatch. Very nice!

  2. Imola Says:

    I love this pattern, it would look real pretty on a cardigan.

  3. Lia Says:

    This is a beautiful swatch, and a beautiful photo. I must admit I’ve always been a bit daunted by the “wrap 4 times around needle”-type stitches. Yours is inspiring.

    • BlueZamia Says:

      Thanks! The wraps weren’t much of a problem, just knit a little loose & wrap a little tight. I had to watch that I didn’t tangle the loops.

  4. mary jane Says:

    always loved this one…

  5. Kristen At GoodknitKisses Says:

    Wow, that is amazing! I just found out this stitch actually has a name. I designed a cowl for loom knitting in the summer (2012) with a series of these but crossing 3×3; which I totally dreamed up in my head. I called it a “cross drop stitch” in my Chic Retreat Cowl. There are more yarn-overs to had height. The pattern I available on my YouTube site as a loom along but if you’d like to see photos, the pattern is on vivaloom.com. Here is the link. I guess I should now tag it with Indian Cross Stitch
    http://www.vivaloom.com/node/171
    here is the youtube version http://youtu.be/IF6u-GcIQSg


Comments are closed.