Little Hourglass Ribbing

Little_Hourglass_Ribbing_DK

Yarn: Fibranatura Baby Merino (Emily – bright pink)

Wraps Per Inch: 11 wpi (per Ravelry yarn database)

Needles: 3.25mm (US 3)

Gauge: 27 sts/32 rows = 4″

Pattern: Little Hourglass Ribbing

Stitch Count Repeat:  Multiple of 4sts

Book: A Treasury of Knitting Patterns

Page: 41

Difficult Techniques:  Somewhat challenging to knit into front and back of two stitches at once.

Comments: Lays flat. Stitch count changes on row 3 so counting stitches on (or immediately after) this row could lead to confusion.  I originally knit this using Cascade 220 but I didn’t think it looked very good.  I’ve added photos of that swatch to my flicker account.  If you’re interested you can see them here.

Knit by: tmarie

This is the same swatched stretched to approximate how it would look when worn.

Little_Hourglass_Ribbing_DK_st

2 Responses to “Little Hourglass Ribbing”

  1. Judith Says:

    Thanks for the great samples and photos. Would like to note that in my edition of “A Treasury of Knitting Patterns” (1998 ed) the Little Hourglass Ribbing pattern is on page 41.

    • Abby Says:

      Oops! Thank you for mentioning that. I also did the Simple Vertical Stripes which is on page 51. I must have forgotten to change the page number when I made this entry. I’ll see if I can correct this.


Comments are closed.

