Clamshell Pattern

Clamshell front

Yarn: KnitPicks Merino Style, Moss
Needles: US #6/4mm KnitPicks Options
Gauge: 4.5 st/inch after blocking
Pattern: Clamshell Pattern
Stitch Count Repeat: 4 stitches
Book: A Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns
Page: 128-29
Knit by: Emilee

Notes: This swatch shows six horizontal repeats and four vertical repeats. It includes the difficult “k5tog tbl” maneuver, so keep a crochet hook handy! While I wouldn’t necessarily call the wrong side attractive, it’s at least interesting.

Clamshell back

5 Responses to “Clamshell Pattern”

  1. Week 16 - Clamshell Pattern « Emilee Knits Says:

    […] swatch is Clamshell Pattern, which is a total pain in the butt to work! I found it impossible to k5tog tbl with knitting […]

  2. spunknit Says:

    Your swatch is lovely, but the stitch is probably not worth the hassle of the k5tog tbl. The back is attractive enough that it could be reversible.

  3. LiLo Says:

    I really like this stitch. I just tried it and found it fairly simple if one doesn’t knit too tightly! I just have to get this book now, after being mesmerized by these beautiful swatches :^)

  4. Nutknit Says:

    I love it. I was thinking about buying the first 2 books as well, and seeing all these lovely swatches definitely makes me want to go for it! I actually love the back side even more than the front^_^

  5. Janet Says:

    Your work is lovely. – Janet


Comments are closed.

