Chinese Lace

Yarn: Koigu Premium Merino
Wraps Per Inch: 14 wpi
Needles: US6
Gauge: 7 sts per inch
Pattern: Chinese Lace
Stitch Count Repeat: Multiple of 16 sts
Book: A Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns
Page: 285
Difficult Techniques, if any: p2 tog-b. This is purling two stitches together through the back—not really difficult, but it can be tricky.

Knit by: judiper

11 Responses to “Chinese Lace”

  1. Bella Says:

    Beautiful swatch! I’ve been eyeing this one for a future scarf project. Was the pattern difficult? I’ll admit to not reading it too closely, but I saw “A” “B” and “C” sections, and my eyes started to glaze over. (It was the only lace pattern she had divided up that way, and I couldn’t understand the reason for it.)

  2. sappho Says:

    very beautiful indeed–and very nicely blocked

  3. East Skye Says:

    Gorgeous swatch! What a lovely, sophisticated pattern.

  4. judiper Says:

    Thanks, everyone! Bella, good point about the A, B, C instructions; I should’ve added that to the difficult techniques part, but by the time I got done knitting the swatch I was so used to doing them, I didn’t even think of it. I think the instructions were done that way to save space. The sets of instructions labeled A, B, and C form those eyelet “ladders” that frame the wavy, mermaid tail-like sections, and you do either the A, B, or C set at least twice on every row, depending on how many repeats you’re doing. Written out the way it is, the pattern looks more intimidating than it is, but once you get it on the needles, the A, B, C sets make perfect sense as long as you’re paying attention (which you need to do with Chinese Lace, as every row is patterned).

  5. Bella Says:

    Great, thanks for the explanation!

  6. Deb Says:

    one of my favorites. Thanks for the swatch!

  7. Saralyn Says:

    Beautiful! Thanks.

  8. Julie Says:

    This is one that actually inspired me to go find my book and mark the page. Beautiful!

  9. Saralyn Says:

    oops all my links are wrong right now. my correct website, should anyone want it is fireflowerknits.wordpress.com

  10. Befuddled Says:

    Why isn’t there a pattern associated with this picture? This site is difficult to understand. Who wants to talk to other people about how hard or easy it is to do something. Just do it, and just give me the pattern and I’ll do it!

  11. nicole Says:

    Book: A Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns
    Page: 285

    That’s the pattern that’s associated with this picture. You need the book for the pattern. This project exists to show off the patterns in currently available yarn and color pictures.


Comments are closed.

