Windblown Cable, Version 1

Yarn:  “Wool of the Andes,”  KnitPicks, 100% Wool, Worsted Weight, Color: Cloud
Wraps Per Inch: 12 wpi
Needles: 8 US (5.0mm)
Gauge: 28 stitches and 28 rows to 4″ (10 cm)
Pattern: Windblown Cable, Version 1
Stitch Count Repeat:  Multiple of 8 sts
Book: Charted Knitting Designs
Page: 96

Knit by: Celesteknits

3 Responses to “Windblown Cable, Version 1”

  1. florafloraflora Says:

    What a cool pattern! Beautifully knit and photographed too.

  2. Jeanne Miller Says:

    What treasury is windblown ver s1 in.
    I just ordered book 3 and 4 and can’t find it.
    My local shop wrote a pattern with windblown it and I think there is a mistake. It does not look like your sample.

  3. Celeste Says:

    Hi Jeanne,
    I found this pattern in a 1972 edition of “Charted Knitting Designs” from my local library. In this edition of “Charted Knitting Designs”, Windblown Version 1 faces left and Version 2 to the right. This book was not called a “A Treasury of Knitting Patterns” but simply “Charted Knitting Designs”. Here’s the full reference:
    Charted Knitting Designs, by Barbara G. Walker. New York, Scribner. 1972, pg 96.
    I’d be curious to know if later editions of her works were edited to omit some patterns. I read somewhere recently, for example, that the first edition of Walker’s “Knitting From the Top Down” had numerous photos removed from later editions. I would have loved to see those photos.


Comments are closed.

