Pine Tree Lace


Yarn: Blackberry Ridge Silk Blend Lace Weight Knitting Yarn (25% Silk / 75% Wool)
Wraps Per Inch: 22
Needles: US 6 / 4,0 mm
Gauge: 18st 30r
Pattern: Pine Tree Lace
Stitch Count Repeat: Multiple of 14 st + 5 st
Book: A Fourth Treasury of Knitting Patterns
Page: 219
Difficult Techniques, if any:
Knit by: Ursula19

4 Responses to “Pine Tree Lace”

  1. missbitesalot Says:

    Oooh, this is very pretty. I like its degree of laciness and unusual appearance. This would be perfect for a sweater I wanted to knit with my newest yarn acquisition.

  2. Bonnie Says:

    Yor swatches are all beautiful! I love this particular pattern. I think I may need to get the Fourth Treasury.

  3. Charlton Says:

    I have the Fourth Treasury, and this pattern seems to use both sl2tog kwise, k1, p2sso and sl 1, k2tog, psso for different purposes. Any comments on the interchangeability of these two double decreases?

  4. Ursula Says:

    Charlton,
    if you sl2 knitwise, k1, p2sso the stitch that was at the center before will still be at the center after this double decrease is done. It will lie on top of the other two stitches. With sl1, k2tog, psso this is not the case. In both cases, you decrease two stitches, but the decreases look differently. Framed Diamond Lace only uses sl2 k1 p2sso and I think it shows very clearly which effect you achieve with this type of decrease. It looks definitely different than sl1 k2tog psso which is used at the center of the pine trees. If you knitted them differently, you’d have ridges in the centre of the trees, but it wouldn’t affect the number of stitches per pattern repeat.
    I hope this helps,
    Ursula


Comments are closed.

