Cloverleaf Eyelet Rib

cloverleafeyerib1
Yarn: Opal Uni sock yarn in color 18, purple
Wraps Per Inch: 18 wpi
Needles: Size 1 (2.25 mm)
Gauge: 7 stitches per inch
Pattern: Cloverleaf Eyelet Rib
Stitch Count Repeat: Multiple of 6sts
Book: A Treasury of Knitting Patterns
Page: 170

Knit by: Laura

I don’t know about you, but I have an extreme dislike for slipping then passing slipped stitches over the top of knit stitches. It’s cumbersome, and never looks “right” to me. I prefer knitting multiples together. With this in mind, after I finished the swatch as the pattern stated using SSKs and sl1k2psso manipulations, I reworked it, and knit a second sample using k2tog and k3tog. I had to move a yarn over to make things line up properly, but I’m very happy with the results. The stitches lean the opposite direction, but I don’t have a problem with that. It was easier to knit this way, faster, and even after blocking the stitches lie better.

The swatch on top is my version, the swatch on the bottom is BW’s version.

cloverleafeyerib2

I hope you don’t mind, but I also wanted to share this picture. As you can see, I had a photographic assistant…

cloverleafeyerib-helper2

5 Responses to “Cloverleaf Eyelet Rib”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Nice swatch – I appreciate you showing the difference that a change in decrease makes. And the tail is adorable.

  2. bluepeninsula Says:

    Thanks for the comparison. Both swatches look great. To my eye, the k2tog decreases in the top version are more pronounced or forceful, creating a bit more of a diagonal emphasis. The SSKs in the bottom version are a bit more gentle and allow the vertical lines to dominate.

    Does anyone else see it this way?

  3. zeph Says:

    The pattern in the top (Laura’s) version is much more boldly defined. I would happily use it in a top.

    The original version appears more delicate, and is perhaps better suited to being combined with other stitch patterns in a shawl.

    Both swatches look lovely :)

  4. Helmut Says:

    I agree with bluepeninsula. The bottom swatch seems softer overall to me. Excellent work and it was especialy good to see the difference a decrease can make. :)

  5. Gwyndolyn O'Shaughnessy Says:

    The ribs in the bottom swatch are meandering upward, while the top ones seem to march purposefully. Both are lovely! Nice comparison … and thanks for including the portrait of your Expert Assistant!


Comments are closed.

