Chain Link Cables

Chain Link Cable Swatch

Left to Right: Left Wave Chain, Right Cross Chain, Left Cross Chain, Right Wave Chain
Yarn: Cascade 220
Wraps Per Inch: 14 wpi
Needles: Size 7 US (4.5 mm)
Gauge: 5.25 sts. per inch in stockinette
Pattern: 9 stitch cable crossed every 8th row
Stitch Count Repeat: Multiple of 9 stitches
Book: A Fourth Treasury of Knitting Patterns
Page:213
Difficult Techniques: Requires 2 cable needles.

Knit by:Adrian

This is a favorite cable of mine because of its 3-dimensionality. It really looks like a chain! All of the fumbling with 2 cable needles is worth it. I can never quite memorize this one, but muddle though, since it’s so beautiful.

For the swatch, I began on row 1 as instructed in the pattern and finished on row 4. I showed the garter edges of the swatched cable, unlike the book, so you could see what the ends of the cables look like and decide for yourself where to start, if you use this pattern.

There is quite a bit of horizontal pull from this cable. I increased 1 for every 5 stitches in the last row of the garter edging, and the swatch still resists being square, despite blocking. Increasing 1 for every 4 might be more like it.

This is a sweater I knit using the cable:

gansey3

11 Responses to “Chain Link Cables”

  1. Anastacia Says:

    Wow! Very pretty. I don’t do cables – they scare me! I’d rather knit acres of fair isle in 10 sts/inch then tackle cables! Thanks for sharing the sweater you knit with the cables, too – it’s REALLY nice to see a FO along with the swatch.

  2. Nicole Says:

    I gasped out loud when I saw this – it’s gorgeous! Thanks so much for contributing this – definitely one of my faves so far!

  3. Laura Says:

    I love that cable! Your sweater is wonderful.

  4. Emilee Says:

    Thank you so much for doing this, and showing what it looks like on a sweater. It’s stunning!

  5. prairiepoppins Says:

    Oh, my goodness! What a beauty.

    Love the yarn choice – it really shows off the 3D nature of this cable.

    (Anastacia, cabling is far, far easier than you think. It’s almost a joke we cable-knitters play on the rest of you – such results from such a simple trick.)

  6. Alison Says:

    Beautiful knitting and a beautiful photo. :)

  7. Stitchy Fingers Says:

    I really like this cable! I’ll have to think of something to try it on.

  8. Spunknit Says:

    This is a very cool looking cable. I was just looking through this book yesterday and saw this. I haven’t read the actual knitting instructions, but seeing Adrian’s comments about using 2 cable needles sounds really interesting!

  9. kate Says:

    love the cable and love the photo.

  10. Sherry Says:

    OMG!! this is beautiful I don’t kno how to do cables but ….I want to do this one..might as well learn on something gorgeous if I am gonna do it but where do I find the pattern to learn by????


Comments are closed.

