Cat’s Eye

catseye-swatch2

Yarn: Opal sock yarn in color 18, purple
Wraps Per Inch: 18 wpi
Needles: Size 3 (3.25 mm)
Gauge: 7 sts per inch on US 1s (2.25 mm)
Pattern: Cat’s Eye
Stitch Count Repeat: Multiple of 4sts
Book: A Treasury of Knitting Patterns
Page: 178

Knit by: Laura


Since this is supposed to be an eyelet pattern, good for lace projects, I decided to knit the sample on larger needles than I would if I were knitting socks. The pattern was easy to execute, simple to memorize, but I have to admit to being disappointed with the results. The little eyes that are so cute in the book’s sample didn’t show up with any regularity in mine, and I have no idea why. I’d hoped they’d show up better after blocking. No such luck.

Also, I’d be more than happy to provide a gauge in pattern with the needles used, if someone can tell me how to count those stitches! LOL

7 Responses to “Cat’s Eye”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    While you may be disappointed, I think your swatch is beautiful!

  2. Suzann Says:

    You did a beautiful job knitting it up. It looks lacy. I have to look in the book to see what the picture looks like. Lacy socks maybe?

  3. Nicole Says:

    I think it looks great!

  4. bluepeninsula Says:

    Wow! You did a beautiful job knitting this up. Great swatch–really shows off the stitch pattern well.

  5. nephele Says:

    Admittedly, I don’t see anything “cat’s eye-ish” about this pattern but it is lovely nonetheless. All these swatches are makine me want to design a lacey spring cardigan.

  6. slauditory Says:

    That’s a super pretty pattern!

  7. editorgrrl Says:

    This pattern would make a great yoga mat bag or water bottle sling.


Comments are closed.

