Thistle Leaf Pattern

Thistle Leaf Pattern

Yarn: elsebeth lavold Silky Wool in color 27 Periwinkle
Wraps Per Inch: 16 wpi
Needles: US6 (4mm)
Gauge: 22 sts. and 30 rows to 4 inches
Pattern: Thistle Leaf Pattern
Book: A Second Treasury of Knitting Patterns (book 2)
Page: 290

Knit by: Nephele of ADKD

2 Responses to “Thistle Leaf Pattern”

  1. Mary Says:

    Nephele,
    I have an old edition of the BW book and am having trouble with this pattern. The book says the pattern is a multiple of 10 st plus 1, but Row 2 seems to be 10 st plus 4 (for the “ssk twice”), and Rows 6, 8, 10, 12, 18, 26, & 28 seem to be 10 st. plus 2 (for the “ssk”).
    I worked through Row 19 as instructed in the book and the last several rows looked okay but the first section, Rows 2-10, were misaligned.
    The repeats don’t seem to be the problem. I am confused by Row 2 starting with [ssk twice] which requires 4 stitches, Row 4 starting with [ssk] which requires 2 stitches, etc.
    Then, Row 20 starts with k2, and Row 22 starts with k3.
    These don’t seem consistent with the pattern being a multiple of 10 stitches plus 1, and I am not sure if I am supposed to be increasing stitches at some point so I have those extra stitches available at the beginning of some rows.
    I have knitted lace before and am familiar with how numbers of stitches can change, but this seems to be a different kind of problem.
    It is a lovely pattern and your swatch looks so nice! I would love to have the same result!
    Thank you very much for any advice you can offer. I appreciate it.
    Regards,
    Mary

  2. nephele Says:

    Mary,
    I’m not sure if the older edition is in fact wrong or not since I’ve never looked. I can tell you the stitch count is the same on all rows. That ssk twice on row 2 is balanced by two yarn overs in the same half of the pattern repeat. It may help if you try charting out your instructions first, that’s what I did. If it still seems strange, check with friends or libraries and see if you can find a newer edition of the book compare with yours. Good luck.


Comments are closed.

